Piazza San Gregorio
Hours: 7:00am to noon; 4:00 to 7:00pm
Built in the early 8th century on the site of two earlier structures which Gregory the Great in 575 had transformed from his ancestral home into a monastery and oratory dedicated to St. Andrew. It was from this monastery that Gregory sent his envoy, St. Augustine, to convert the English. The medieval church was completely renovated externally in 1629-33 by G.B. Soria and internally in 1725-34 by F. Ferrari. Outside the church on the left are the chapels of saints Andrew, Sylvia and Barbara with frescoes by Domenichino, Reni and Viviani. In the Chapel of St. Barbara, the one on the left, is the marble table believed to be the one where St. Gregory served daily meals to 12 paupers; a legend tells of the appearance one day of an angel who increased the number to 13.