piazza san Lorenzo in Lucina
Hours: 7:00am to noon; 4.00 to 7:00pm
Erected in the 4th and 5th centuries, rebuilt in the 12th and then alterwed by Cosimo Fanzago about 1650.
Contains alleged gridiron of St. Lawrence’s martyrdom behind the main altar.
The campanile and portico date back to the 12th century.
Under the church there is a subterranean site.