It has been always subject of several restorations and changes since the ancient times.
One of the first restoration was realized after a major fire
probably caused by a lightning which occurred in 217AD. Other works followed in 250AD caused by another fire, and 450AD due to an earthquake.
With the fall of the Roman Empire in 476AD the building use became rare to finally end.
After another earthquake in 847 the buiding was abandoned to become a cave of building materials.
Modern restorations started in 1806 and continues up to the present days.